There’s no place like home…

img_0909NYC skyline in the distance

… and that’s not always a good thing. New York and New Jersey are states that offer some of the best– and the worst– of local culture. There was a non-stop view of garbage along the highways driving to Newark Liberty airport. The “don’t bother me, I’m busy” attitude at many of the shops and stores gets old fast. And the driving downstate. Oh, the driving.

But there’s also an amazing amount of cultural diversity in this part of the country, offering the visitor all sorts of ethnic cuisine. You can also witness some peeks into a world vastly different from yours; a few hours ago, I watched a Hasidic Jewish man wave farewell to who I assume was his son, departing for Tel-Aviv. The man suddenly began to openly weep and I couldn’t help but watch as the woman and young girl he was with tried to console him. This is the good stuff you see at airports– real emotions displayed by real people.

Speaking of airports, I’m sitting here at this moment in Amsterdam, 5:40 AM local time, just off the plane before we connect to the U.K. I can’t begin to describe my excitement. I really ought to have a sip of something good to calm me down, but I have a long day ahead of me. Before I begin to gush about Europe and all it has to offer to the wandering food and wine geek, I have to give my respects to the NY/NJ area for its connection to the “old world”, evidenced by the plethora of food and beverage specialty shops, markets, wineries, etc. I imagine folks from parts of Europe must come here and often see a big ole’ slice of their home. Hopefully, they’re pleased by this– after all, home is where the heart is, right?

I’ll leave you all with some gastronomically-inspired parting images of the past week in NY. I’ll be updating (Lord have mercy…) this blog once I settle down in our new place, so more videos and the like will be available.  I had a blast these past few weeks, getting to know my country a lot better, and am ready to adventure throughout Europe. Are you?

Cheers,

Jared



~ by Jared on April 23, 2009.

8 Responses to “There’s no place like home…”

  1. Yay! You made it…and yes I’m ready to enjoy the adventure you and Shanna take me on throughout your travels in Europe! Someday I will get to experience it in real life.
    Safe travels to you both!
    Cheers!

  2. Hoorah! Can’t wait to hear stories from across the pond!

  3. Happy trails……….bon voyage!
    Your wino neighbors. Good thoughts your way.

    • Hi Camille,

      …sure do miss you guys. When you coming out this way again??

      Hope you’re both well and getting some nice spring weather.

      Cheerio,
      Jared

      • Hi Jared, cheers,
        We do …….miss you guys too, alot. Greg is going through Wi withdrawl, he is playing with our niece Saylor/5 and nephew Fischer/8 like they are adults!!! Enjoying the adventure. We will be heading over looks like Sept. or maybe early Oct.!!! Dickie and Amy moved in this weekend, great people they are.
        Cheerio, (just love that word).
        Hugs, C & G.

  4. Oh, did you forget? We’re all meeting up with you next week! We all wish. Living vicariously is fun too tho.

    • …C’MON DOWN. It’s easy! All right, that’s a load of you-know-what, but I’d like to see you anyway. I bought my first British cheese today, btw- a local goat cheese. Tea and cheese??

      Cheers!
      Jared

Leave a Reply

 
